One-time shares

Pure camera app enables you send friends photos and videos that can be seen only once by the receiver. When a photo is sent, it lasts 8.5 seconds before disappearing, never to be seen again. A video share lasts the length of the recording.

Why send it to one person instead of a story?

A story is for a crowd, so you start to perform for it. A one-time share goes to a friend or group of friends. It requires intentionality to choose that person. Stories are purposefully not supported in Pure for this reason.

Without stories, you communicate with people. Stories let you broadcast at people.

Why does it disappear?

To remove the seriousness. You know it only lasts a few seconds, then it is gone.

Who is a one-time share for?

A specific person, or a group you are interacting with. You open the app to reach them, then you close it. There is no way to mindlessly perform for acquaintances, or consume their lives. This is digital minimalism, and it is the opposite of doom-scrolling. Social media apps try to hijack your attention. Pure promotes genuine relationships.

What happens when you take a screenshot?

You are allowed to take screenshots and screen recordings of a friend’s temporary photo or video. Your messaging thread with that person, or with the group, will contain a note that you took a screenshot or a screen recording of their photo or video.